Product | Philip Morris Launches TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black in Germany With Level-10 Tobacco Intensity at €8 per Pack

product
Nov.02
Product | Philip Morris Launches TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black in Germany With Level-10 Tobacco Intensity at €8 per Pack
Philip Morris International (PMI) introduced TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black heated tobacco sticks in Germany in October 2026, both carrying a brand-rated tobacco-flavor intensity of 10, the highest level in the country's TEREA portfolio. Bold Red features leather and warm woody notes, while Bold Black combines woody and subtle floral notes. Both are sold in 20-stick packs at €8, approximately 2.6% above standard TEREA products. Germany's TEREA range now includes 11 flavor variants, alongside a separate 26-stick XL format priced at €10. IQOS Germany announced the new products on October 12, followed by a phased retail rollout from late October and an IQOS Club campaign running through December.

Special Notice

  1. This article is intended strictly for internal industry exchanges and information sharing within the vaping/tobacco trade, and does not constitute an endorsement or recommendation of any brand or product.
  2. All images and visuals presented herein are solely used for objective factual description and news reporting, and do not serve as commercial advertising or marketing for any product.
  3. Access to this content by minors is strictly prohibited.

Key Points

  • Philip Morris International's IQOS Germany introduced TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black on October 12, 2026. Both carry a tobacco-flavor intensity rating of 10, the highest currently available in Germany's TEREA range.
  • Bold Red features leather and warm woody notes, while Bold Black combines woody and subtle floral notes. Germany's TEREA portfolio now includes 11 flavor variants, with intensity ratings ranging from 4 to 10.
  • Both products contain 20 sticks per pack and retail for €8, a €0.20 or approximately 2.6% premium over standard TEREA packs priced at €7.80. Germany also offers a 26-stick TEREA XL format at €10.
  • The new variants are compatible with existing IQOS ILUMA and ILUMA i devices using SMARTCORE induction heating technology, without requiring a new device platform.
  • IQOS Germany announced availability on October 12, followed by a phased retail expansion from late October. Philip Morris GmbH also launched an IQOS Club promotional campaign running through December 31.

2Firsts November 2, 2026

Philip Morris International (PMI) introduced TEREA Bold Red and TEREA Bold Black heated tobacco sticks in Germany, both carrying a tobacco-flavor intensity rating of 10, according to an announcement published by IQOS Germany on October 12, 2026.

The products are the highest-rated tobacco-intensity variants currently available in Germany's TEREA portfolio.

Both are sold in 20-stick packs at €8 each, a €0.20 or approximately 2.6% premium over standard TEREA products priced at €7.80. The launch expands Germany's TEREA range to 11 flavor variants, with a separate 26-stick XL format also available for selected existing blends.

Two Level-10 Variants Expand Germany's TEREA Range to 11 Flavors

TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black use different tobacco blends, both rated at intensity level 10 by IQOS Germany.

According to the official product descriptions, the variants have the following characteristics:

ProductTobacco-flavor intensityManufacturer-described profile
TEREA Bold Red10/10Full-bodied, warm tobacco with leather and woody notes
TEREA Bold Black10/10Full-bodied tobacco blend with woody and subtle floral notes

German trade publication Sprit+ reported on October 23 that the products use specially developed tobacco blends, with tobacco drying and blending processes contributing to their flavor characteristics, according to Philip Morris.

IQOS Germany currently lists 11 TEREA flavor variants, with tobacco-flavor intensity ratings ranging from 4 to 10. TEREA Russet previously occupied the upper end of the range at level 9, while Bold Red and Bold Black introduce a new level-10 tier.

The ratings are part of IQOS's tobacco-flavor intensity scale. They do not represent nicotine content, nicotine delivery or relative health risk.

Both Bold variants use the existing TEREA heated tobacco stick architecture and are compatible with IQOS ILUMA and ILUMA i devices through SMARTCORE induction heating technology. They are not compatible with older IQOS devices designed for HEETS sticks.

The main product specifications are summarized below.

ItemSpecification
Brand ownerPhilip Morris International (PMI)
German marketerPhilip Morris GmbH
Brand / SeriesTEREA / Bold
ProductsBold Red; Bold Black
Product typeHeated tobacco sticks
Compatible devicesIQOS ILUMA and ILUMA i series
Heating technologySMARTCORE induction heating
Tobacco-flavor intensity10/10 for both variants; brand-rated
Bold Red profileLeather and warm woody notes
Bold Black profileWoody and subtle floral notes
Pack size20 sticks per pack; 10 packs per carton
German retail price€8 per pack; €80 per carton
Announcement dateOctober 12, 2026
Launch marketGermany
ManufacturerNot separately disclosed in launch materials

Bold Priced at €8 per Pack as Germany's TEREA Range Offers Different Formats and Price Points

TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black are priced at €8 per 20-stick pack in Germany. A carton of 10 packs, containing 200 sticks, costs €80.

Standard TEREA products are priced at €7.80 per 20-stick pack, or €78 per carton.

Germany also offers TEREA XL, a 26-stick format priced at €10 per pack. The format became available through IQOS Germany's official channels in September 2026 and covers five existing variants: Russet, Sienna, Amber, Teak and Turquoise.

Based on the official prices and pack sizes, the three product configurations have the following pricing structure:

Product categorySticks per packPack pricePrice per stick
Standard TEREA20€7.80€0.390
TEREA Bold20€8.00€0.400
TEREA XL26€10.00Approx. €0.385

Bold products carry a €0.20 premium per pack over standard TEREA, equivalent to approximately 2.6%. On a per-stick basis, Bold costs €0.40, compared with €0.39 for standard TEREA and approximately €0.385 for XL.

The configurations reflect different approaches to packaging and retail pricing within Germany's TEREA portfolio.

TEREA XL maintains the existing tobacco blends while increasing the pack size from 20 to 26 sticks, resulting in a slightly lower unit price. Bold retains the standard 20-stick format but introduces different tobacco blends with the highest flavor-intensity rating and a higher listed price.

These are German retail prices and do not establish differences in profitability or actual sales performance.

October 12 Announcement Followed by Phased Retail Expansion

IQOS Germany announced TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black on October 12, 2026, listing both products as available for purchase.

Officially listed channels include the IQOS online store, IQOS physical stores and shop-in-shops, as well as tobacco-selling outlets such as petrol stations and supermarkets.

In an October 23 report, German trade publication Sprit+ said the products would enter the German retail market progressively from late October. The report's headline also referred to availability from November.

The official sales announcement and subsequent wider retail distribution therefore reflect different stages of the rollout. Distribution was scheduled to expand through late October and into November, with availability potentially varying by outlet.

Both variants use the existing IQOS ILUMA device platform, without the introduction of a corresponding new heating device.

IQOS Club Campaign Runs Through December

Alongside the product launch, Philip Morris GmbH introduced an IQOS Club promotional campaign associated with TEREA Bold.

According to the official terms, the campaign runs from October 12 through December 31, 2026, and is open to eligible adult nicotine-product users in Germany.

The campaign provides two principal participation routes.

The first involves eligible first-time customers purchasing an IQOS ILUMA or ILUMA i device during the campaign period and registering it through their account. The second allows eligible participants to unlock a TEREA Bold badge within the IQOS Club loyalty program.

Completing either route provides one prize-draw entry, while completing both provides two entries. Participants must also meet the applicable account-registration and marketing-consent requirements.

The announced prizes are as follows:

PrizeQuantityStated value
TUI travel vouchers2€5,000 each
BestChoice Travel & Adventure vouchers200€100 each
RIMOWA Cabin suitcases9€750 each

The combined stated value of the prizes is €36,750, based on the quantities and values disclosed in the campaign terms. This does not represent Philip Morris's actual marketing expenditure.

The campaign combines new device purchase and registration with engagement among existing loyalty-program members.

PMI has not disclosed sales volumes, participation figures or conversion data associated with the TEREA Bold launch.

Industry Perspective

TEREA Bold Red and Bold Black raise the highest tobacco-flavor intensity rating in Germany's TEREA portfolio to 10 and enter the market at €8 per pack, compared with €7.80 for standard 20-stick products.

PMI also offers the 26-stick TEREA XL format in Germany at €10 per pack. While XL establishes a different unit price by increasing pack size, Bold retains the 20-stick format and introduces a higher retail price through tobacco-blend differentiation and flavor-intensity positioning.

Both new variants use the existing IQOS ILUMA platform and are being distributed through IQOS-operated and conventional tobacco retail channels, supported by a loyalty campaign involving new device registration and existing members.

Follow 2Firsts for the latest developments in global vaping and next-generation nicotine products, product launches, innovation, technology and market trends.

Cover Image Source:IQOS Germany

GSTHR Estimates 200 Million People Use Non-Combustible Nicotine Products as 28 Countries Show Rising Use Alongside Falling Smoking Rates
GSTHR Estimates 200 Million People Use Non-Combustible Nicotine Products as 28 Countries Show Rising Use Alongside Falling Smoking Rates
The Global State of Tobacco Harm Reduction, a project operated by Knowledge·Action·Change, estimates that about 200 million people worldwide use non-combustible nicotine products including vapes, heated tobacco, nicotine pouches and snus. Its 2026 report says use of these products rose alongside declining smoking rates in 28 countries it analyzed. The data do not establish that all 200 million users have quit smoking, nor do they prove a direct causal relationship. GSTHR also says regulatory restrictions on the products continue to expand in many markets.
Sep.10
NAS 2026 | FDA CTP Director Says PMTA Pathway Is “Predicated on Tobacco Harm Reduction”
NAS 2026 | FDA CTP Director Says PMTA Pathway Is “Predicated on Tobacco Harm Reduction”
At the 2026 New Approaches Summit in New York, FDA Center for Tobacco Products Director Bret Koplow said the PMTA pathway is “predicated on tobacco harm reduction.” He outlined four CTP priorities: youth prevention, helping adults quit or switch to lower-risk products, improving relative-risk communication, and reducing unauthorized products. Koplow also addressed flavored e-cigarettes, public risk perceptions, industry credibility and efforts to make PMTA reviews more efficient and predictable.
Sep.26
Los Angeles Cracks Down on Illicit Flavored Vapes and Counterfeit Goods: 12 Businesses Searched, 24 Arrested, Eight Truckloads Seized
Los Angeles Cracks Down on Illicit Flavored Vapes and Counterfeit Goods: 12 Businesses Searched, 24 Arrested, Eight Truckloads Seized
Los Angeles authorities searched 12 businesses and arrested 24 people during a multi-agency operation targeting illicit flavored vaping products, flavored cigarettes and counterfeit merchandise on October 22, 2026. The Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department said approximately eight tractor-trailer loads of merchandise were seized. Alleged violations involved flavored tobacco sales restrictions, tobacco licensing requirements and counterfeit trademark laws. Local, state and federal agencies participated. Authorities have not disclosed the number, brands or value of vaping products seized. Investigations remain ongoing.
Enforcement
Oct.28
Charlie’s Bets on Age-Gating and 678 PMTA Assets as U.S. Vape Enforcement Landscape Shifts
Charlie’s Bets on Age-Gating and 678 PMTA Assets as U.S. Vape Enforcement Landscape Shifts
Charlie’s Holdings said in its latest shareholder letter that it is moving to commercialize PACHA products and monetize its PMTA assets as the FDA changes enforcement priorities for unauthorized ENDS products. Thirty PACHA SKUs were previously tentatively identified for a proposed public list of products that the FDA generally does not intend to prioritize for enforcement. Charlie’s is also preparing test-market sales of age-gated flavored disposables and says it currently holds 678 PMTA-related product assets while seeking additional strategic transactions and partnerships.
Sep.11
Pennsylvania Lists 163 Vape Products Eligible for Sale, Including Vuse and JUUL; Previously Pending Chinese Brands Such as OXBAR Remain Absent, While Unlisted Products Including Geek Bar Face Enforcement From October 19
Pennsylvania Lists 163 Vape Products Eligible for Sale, Including Vuse and JUUL; Previously Pending Chinese Brands Such as OXBAR Remain Absent, While Unlisted Products Including Geek Bar Face Enforcement From October 19
Pennsylvania begins enforcing its electronic nicotine delivery system (ENDS) directory restrictions on October 19, 2026. The October 18 directory contained 163 product records from seven manufacturers, including Vuse, JUUL, NJOY, Logic and Naked 100. Geek Bar, RAZ and Lost Mary were absent. BAT, Altria, Japan Tobacco and JUUL collectively accounted for 112 records, or 68.7%, while Imperial Brands' blu had no listings. The directory included 15 disposable vape records, 40 bottled e-liquids and 10 products labeled 0mg, but no open-system refillable devices. Twenty-two manufacturer certifications remained under review. Four Logic models corresponding to Smoore's pending records were listed under the brand owner, while LYCO, OXBAR and Boulder/Rock had no approved directory entries.
Regulations
Oct.19
Special Report|Virginia Vape Directory Shows Contrast Between Vuse and JUUL Pod Systems and CrossBar 20K, Loon Flavored Disposables
Special Report|Virginia Vape Directory Shows Contrast Between Vuse and JUUL Pod Systems and CrossBar 20K, Loon Flavored Disposables
A 2Firsts analysis of Virginia's liquid nicotine and vapor product certification directory identified 213 product records from 15 manufacturers. Companies associated with BAT, Altria, Imperial Brands, JTI and JUUL account for 127 entries. The directory also includes independent brands CrossBar 20K, Loon and Breeze. CrossBar advertises a 13mL disposable capable of up to 20,000 puffs, while Loon has 16 disposable entries featuring fruit, cooling and beverage-related flavors. Of all records, 120 are labeled as under FDA PMTA review. Virginia introduced revised penalties on October 1, 2026, including a minimum first-violation civil penalty of $5,000 per unlisted product, alongside new retail tobacco permitting requirements.
Regulations
Oct.30